rainy days and fridays never get me down

it has been the most perfect day. i was absolutely delighted to wake up to a cold and rainy fall day. of course, it put my recycling center plan on hold for the day, but i rolled with it.

i had lunch at a cozy little bagel/muffin shop with a very dear friend. what a special lady she is! we got to know each other several years ago as adult leaders on a middle school missions trip and we have been friends ever since (not many people can happily survive a week of crazy middle schoolers!). she is such an encouraging and Jesusy mentor to me.

after lunch we browsed some nearby stores before i had to leave for my haircut appointment. since we met up in the same area as my hair place, i decided to walk rather than drive over. it was great! i love walking in the rain.

i’ve spent the rest of the day/evening holed up at home with DVDs from the library and some whole wheat crust pizza.

i love days like this.

and now, before i head off to make tea and settle into my crossword puzzle, let me leave you with one of my favorite poems. it just seems appropriate to me today:

 

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm

That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

 – “Hope” by Emily Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

